winter capsule wardrobe

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 4.35.14 PM.png

I have finally figured out my winter capsule wardrobe! These are the clothes for the months of December through February (I know I’m starting a little late, but better late than never) and then I will transfer over to a spring capsule in March (or when it gets warmer considering global warming is screwing up our seasons).

I made a Pinterest board of every item in my capsule. I decided 35 items was a good number for me. I also have a capsule for going out / fancier clothes (I am in college in NYC after all – I can do a mini post on this if you guys want), so those clothes are not included in my winter capsule. Also not included is accessories (jewelry, bags, hats, scarves), pajamas, socks and underwear – that sort of thing. With less items to lug back and forth between Boston and NYC, it makes it easier to travel and therefore puts less stress on me.

Caroline from Unfancy has some amazing resources if you want to investigate starting a capsule wardrobe. She explains what a capsule wardrobe is, how to build one, and offers a free capsule wardrobe planner for you to print and fill out. This time around, I didn’t use the wardrobe planner, but I definitely will in the future. I simply thought of the items I wear the most and the look I am trying to go for (classic rock, comfort and confidence ), and this list of 35 items was born!

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 4.35.42 PM.png

7 TOPS

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 4.57.41 PM.png

Night Terrors of the 1927 band t-shirt

Queen band t-shirt

Black Rag & Bone pocket t-shirt

Daydreamer Bon Appetit t-shirt

Black cold shoulder top

Grey Forever 21 high neck bodysuit

Grey Forever 21 high neck sleeveless knit crop top

5 SWEATERS

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 5.00.24 PM.png

Grey H&M fine knit wool sweater

Grey H&M chunky knit sweater

Grey Urban Outfitters v-neck sweater

Black Burberry cashmere sweater

Aztec wave print Forever 21 sweater

3 CARDIGANS

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 5.03.56 PM.png

Grey longline Forever 21 cardigan

Cream and black striped Forever 21 cardigan

Grey hooded Zara cardigan

6 OUTERWEAR

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 5.09.23 PM.png

Black denim shearling Brandy Melville jacket

Khaki Topshop fur lined parka

H&M leather jacket

Topshop leather jacket

Urban Outfitters checked poncho

Zara checked dress coat

3 BOTTOMS

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 5.11.35 PM.png

Grey Topshop Jamie jeans

Black ripped Topshop Jamie jeans

Black and grey Madewell biker jeans

3 DRESSES

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 5.14.40 PM.png

Silver embroidered Urban Outfitters dress

Black ribbed Forever 21 long sleeved dress

Burgundy ribbed Forever 21 sleeveless dress

8 SHOES

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 5.19.06 PM.png

Zara glitter booties

DSW suede tassel booties

DSW pointed leather booties

Forever 21 chain buckle boots

Forever 21 patent zip boots

Circus by Sam Edelman rain boots

White Adidas superstars

White Converse high tops

Let’s see if this works out! No clothes shopping until March… I’ve almost caved a few times but I’m staying strong so far. It’s pretty good for my wallet, I must admit, and I don’t feel pressured to wear specific items in my wardrobe anymore (which is a lot more sparse after beginning my closet clean out, which will be completed when I come back home from school for the summer). I’ve been selling and donating a lot of things, and it’s nice to know that someone else is going to give my clothes the love they deserve (yes, clothes deserve love). Also to do when summer rolls around – my shoe collection. I’ll keep you updated on everything!

Much love xxx Nina

2 thoughts on “winter capsule wardrobe

Leave a Reply

